Using the lobby (for Hosts)

Sydney Johnson

Last Updated:
February 19, 2021

The lobby is where online participants can see tables on screen, see where other members are “seated”, and join or leave a video-conference session with others freely by clicking on any table. Online participants can be moved in or out of the lobby at any time during the event by a greeter or host. Online participants cannot go into the lobby on their own, a Greeter or Host must change the state of the event first. If a user joins an event while the event is in lobby mode, they will join the lobby.

Who can join Tables?

Just like the live stream event, if you have made your event public, anyone who clicks on your event link will be able to join, see the tables, and see members moving between tables when you have switched into the lobby mode. However, an online participant cannot join a table until they sign up or log in. If they click on a table to join, they will be prompted with a dialogue to sign up or log in.

Who can join the Rooms?

Rooms can be access by all the attendees when the Event is in Lobby state. Attendees can toggle between Tables and Rooms to be able to move around. You can see who has joined which Rooms, and hop in and out of Rooms, just like Tables.

What can people do in the lobby?

Here are all the actions online participants can currently do in the lobby:

Actions anonymous participants (people who are not logged in) can do while in the lobby:

  • Chat with Greeter
  • See who is seated
  • Search for other people online in the Member list
  • Find someone on screen
  • Chat with Greeter

Actions logged-in participants can do while in the lobby:

  • Chat with other online participants
  • Join or leave a table freely
  • Turon on their microphone and camera
  • Mute/unmute themselves
  • Search for other people online in the Member list
  • Find someone on screen
  • Chat with Greeter

Actions greeter and/or host can do while in the lobby:

  • Move everyone from live stream event to lobby
  • Move everyone back from lobby to live stream event
  • Rename tables
  • Remove a user from the event
  • Host only: End event and table session for all

How to move everyone into the Lobby

A greeter or host can change the state of the event from live stream event to lobby at any time and move all online participants, both logged-in and anonymous participants, into the table view. You can move online participants back to the live event from the lobby at any time as well. Learn more about event timing to learn how to use the lobby in your services and events.

 

Step1: Join an event as a greeter and/or host.

Step2: Click the Host options drop down menu and then, choose Move Everyone To Lobby option from the drop-down menu. If you decide to move everyone back to event, all you need is to click on Move everyone back to event button from the Host options.

Note: If you move everyone into the lobby from the live stream event, online participants in watch parties remain in their same group but are seated together at a table. They can leave the table to see the lobby view.

Note: If a user joins an event while the event is in lobby mode, they will join the lobby.

Step 5: Click Yes from the pop-up appeared. Click Cancel if you change your mind.

Step 6: When the Host clicks the Move Everyone to Lobby button, all participants will see a 10 second countdown notification appear: "The Host will move everyone to Lobby in 00:10"

Step 7: When the 10 second countdown timer ends, all online participants are moved to the Lobby and get a notification banner that says Host has moved everyone to Lobby.

Step 8: If you have added Rooms to your event, you can toggle between the Tables and Rooms view.

Step 9: Click on the Join button to enter a Room.

Step 10: As a Host, when you want to move everyone back to the Auditorium, click on Host Options and select Move Everyone Back to Event.

Renaming Tables

Hosts and greeters can name tables in the lobby from the lobby screen. These labels can be added before the service or when everyone is moved to the lobby.

Step 1: From the lobby, hover over the number on the table you'd like to rename until it highlights. Then click on the number.

Step 2: Type the new table name into the box and click save.

Step 3: When you are finished naming tables, you can remain in the lobby or move back into the event.

Services & Events

Participating in a Meeting

Learn how to manage services and events in Altar Live

Learn More
Services & Events

How to Create a Meeting

Learn how to manage services and events in Altar Live

Learn More
Services & Events

Using Polls

Learn how to manage services and events in Altar Live

Learn More