How to create an event or service

Stephanie Antonucci Leathe

Stephanie Antonucci Leathe

Last Updated:
November 18, 2020

In Altar Live, you  create events through the event creation process.

How do events work?

  • Anyone with admin access can create, edit or delete events.
  • You can have synchronous events in the same community.
  • At any time during the event creation process, you can click Back to go to the previous step. You can also click Save As Draft to come back to the event later. It will only appear as a draft to community admins.

The link that is generated for each event will be long, but you can easily shorten and customize the link to something recognizable. Learn more about how to shorten Altar Live URLs.

What's the difference between one-time and recurring events?

One-time events have their own unique URL link. When the event ends, people are not redirected to another event and if a someone clicks on a link after the event has ended, they will see an event ended screen. To create a one-time event, set the recurrence o Do Not Repeat.

Recurring events belong to a recurring series can each be individually edited and customized, but will all share the same URL. If you want to use the same URL for a certain type of event (i.e. weekly Sunday service, morning Bible study, etc), you will want to create a recurring event series. Learn more about how to set up recurring events.

Creating a new event

Step 1: Navigate to app.altarlive.com and log in to your account.

Step 2: Click on the Add New button from the “Events & Meetings” screen.

General Details

Step 3: Enter the event name and description into the appropriate fields.

Step 4: Select the date and start and end time of the event. Learn more about event timing.

Event start time: This start time will be displayed on the event details when you share the event with others. This is the actual start time of your live stream feed. Your feed will automatically start when the countdown timer hits 00:00.

Event end time: This end time will be displayed on the event details when you share the event with others. This is the approximate end time of when you will close the event and lobby for all guests. The event will not automatically end. The event will stay active until a Host clicks End Event for All.

Note: The event will be created in the time zone of the community, and will automatically update to display in the time zone of individual members according to the time zone they selected in their profile preference.

Step 5: Add a preview image for your event by clicking on the image icon on the right side of the page.

Hospitality Team

The hospitality team can manage the event while it's ongoing. Learn more about the role of the hospitality team.

Step 6: Click the Add Member button.

Step 7: Add members to be Hosts/Greeters by clicking on their name, then click Select.

Note: You can only add people to the hospitality team for the event who are already members in the community and had Accepted status.

Step 8: Select one or more members to be a Host by clicking on the checkbox near the name.

Note: You can remove a member from your Hospitality Team by clicking on the trash bin near the checkbox.

Step 9: Specify the Greeting Message.

Note: The greeting message you create will be automatically sent to all users who join the event, both anonymous and logged in members. If you don't add anyone to the Hospitality team, no greeting message will be created.

Viewing Permissions

Step 10: On the Viewing Permissions step you can choose those who can join:

  • Anyone (public event, people don't have to have an account to join)
  • All Members (members have to log in to join the event)
  • Selected Members (only specific logged in members are able to join the event)

Stream

You can connect your stream feed from a video player or stream provider. Learn more about how to connect your stream feed.

Step 11: On the Stream step, select whether your video is live or pre-recorded. Based on your choice, you will see different stream provider options.

Step 12: Select your stream provider and paste in your URL.

Pre Event Slides

You can add images that will be shown as rotating slides to people before the event begins. Learn more about how to use pre-event slides.

Step 13: On the Pre Event step, choose the Slide Transition Time from the drop-down menu. 

Step 14: Upload an image as a slide by clicking on the image area. You will be prompted to add the image from your computer.

Adding Rooms to the Lobby

You can add multiple Rooms to your Event. Rooms function as breakout video conference sessions inside the Lobby. Tables are limited to 4 people, but Rooms are able to hold up to 50 participants. Each Room can be named and given a description. There is no limit to number of Rooms you can add.


Step 15: On the Room step, click on Add New Room.

Step 16: Name the Room and give it a description. Choose how many people can join the room (12, 25 or 50 participants).

Editing an Event

You can edit an event in both Draft and Published state. Admins can also edit Ongoing events. Users need to click refresh or be moved between Event and Lobby to see changes made to an Ongoing event.

Step 1: To edit an event, click on the Edit button on the card.

Step 2: Click Save Changes and the changes that have been made will be saved. 

Publishing an Event

Once an event is published, it is visible to all member of the community and the shareable link for the event is generated.

Publish Event: Click on Publish if you want to publish the event. All the participants will see the event published on the Events Meetings screen.

Saving As Draft

Events in draft state are only visible to other admins in the community. A shareable link to the event won't be generated until the event is published.

Save as Draft: You can Save as Draft the event on any step of the creation in case you want to have it and not to show anyone.

Deleting an Event

You can remove Draft or Published events, as well as past, ongoing, and future events.

Deleting an Event: Click Delete and the event will be deleted. It will disappear from the “Events & Meetings” screen.

How many people can join my event?

There is no limit to the number of people who can join your event. If you have enabled automatic upgrade, as more people join your event than you have capacity for on your member tier, you will simply be upgraded to the next tier. No one will be blocked.

How are seats created in the event?


The number of seats in the Lobby and Auditorium are automatically generated by the platform. Seats are not equivalent to the number of people who can join an event. Every event has enough seating for the number of members who have accounts in your community so if everyone showed up, you would have enough space. If your community member count increases, it will be recalculated for future events.

By default, the number of seats is calculated like this:

Number of Tables/Rows = Community Members / 4
11 Tables/Rows = 43 Community Members

Note: Number of Community Members is the number of people who have created an account in your community at any time, not the same as Monthly Active Users.


Ready to use Altar Live for your own event? Check out: How To Run a Church Conference Online!
Getting Started

Check list to go live

Set up your community and create your first event in Altar Live.

Learn More
Getting Started

Email Template: Introduce Altar Live to Decision-Makers

Set up your community and create your first event in Altar Live.

Learn More
Getting Started

Email Template: Introduce Altar Live to Your Community

Set up your community and create your first event in Altar Live.

Learn More