Inviting people to your community

MANAGED BY

Stephanie Antonucci Leathe

Last Updated:
November 18, 2020

Whether your Altar Live community is brand new or it’s been around for awhile, read on the learn how to invite others to join.

Invitation permissions

Your ability to invite others to your workspace depends on your permissions in Altar.

  • Community Managers can invite members.
  • Members cannot invite other members.


Members vs. Anonymous Users

Members

Members are people who have created an account in your Altar Live community. They sign up to your community during a live event or can be invited to join your community with an invitation email or link. They can sign in to your Community at any time, and when they join an event they have access to all the interactive video-conference and chat engagement features.

Any member can be given admin permissions can create and manage meetings and events.

Anonymous Users

Anyone can join an event that you have made public. Altar Live balances accessibility and security. A person who does not have an account in your community is called an anonymous user. They can easily access your event, watch and follow along without every having to login or create an account. An anonymous user can also chat with the Greeters, but they don't have to give any personal information. However, in order to participate in direct communication with individual members through chat, watch parties, and the social lobby, an anonymous user is asked to sign up. They can sign up with their email, Google or Facebook. They sign up directly in the system without having to leave the platform. Once they create an account, they will always be logged in on that device when they join future events. Learn more about how to sign up during an event.


Invite members

Members of your community can join all public events and events they are invited to, join watch parties and tables, and chat with one another. Members with admin permissions can create and manage events.

Send individual email invitation

Step 1: Click on Members in your left side panel to navigate to your Member directory.

Step 2: Click on + Add New Member in the upper right hand corner. If you do not see this button, you do not have admin access permissions.

Step 3: Enter the Member details.

  • Required fields: First Name, Last Name, and Email.
  • Optional fields: Phone number

Step 4: Check Give this Member admin access if applicable. Members can always be given admin access later.

Step 5: Check Send Invitation immediately if you want the Member to receive an email immediately. Members can always be sent an invitation at a later time via email or a link.

Step 6: Click Add Member


Share the self-registration link

Every community has as self-registration link that can be sent out for people to add themselves into the community. You can send this link to a group of people or an individual and it will prompt them to set up an account and join them automatically into your community.

Note: Anyone with this link can join your community. Be careful to only send to people you want to invite. It is not recommended to post the link publicly.

Step 1: Click on Community Profile in the left-side column.

Step 2: Scroll to the bottom of the Community Profile details to find the Invitation Link. Copy the Invitation Link.

Step 3: Send or embed the link to anyone you’d like.

Manage unsent or pending invitations

Community Managers can view unsent, pending and accepted invitations and make the following changes:

  • Send a new email invitation if the original invitation has expired or been lost
  • Send a link to join the community

Check status of invitation

Step 1: Click on the Member you want to check for pending or accepted invitations.

Step 2: Check the status of the invitation on Member details panel.


Not Invited

Send an existing member who you added but have not yet invited.

Step 1: Select the Member you want to invite.

Step 2: On member details panel, click on Invite under status. An email will automatically be sent to the member.


Invite Pending

Send invitation again to an existing member who has already been invited.

Step 1: Select the Member you want to invite.

Step 2: On member details panel, click on Invite Again under status.

Step 3: An email will automatically be sent to the member.

Managing Your Community

Editing member permissions & roles

Manage members, edit community details, and update billing preferences.

Learn More
Managing Your Community

Roles in Altar Live

Manage members, edit community details, and update billing preferences.

Learn More
Managing Your Community

Integrating Altar on your website

Manage members, edit community details, and update billing preferences.

Learn More